JUST USE YOUR HEAD!

Why do we love hats? Where to begin?! Let’s start with sheer vanity: headwear can make you look so much better! If you already wear hats, you know this. If you don’t, have a think about it. What other accessory affects your look in the way that millinery can? It’s on your head so can’t go unnoticed. Shape, colour and style all come into play. The right headwear can enhance your features and flatter the shape of your face, and having the right colour next to your face will give it a glow. Not only that, but your whole outfit will have a more pulled-together and coordinated look, be it casual or dressed up. And then different choices of headwear can give a different spin to the same set of clothes.

There are lots of good reasons for hat wearing. (We’ll ignore traditional, ethnic or religious headwear or headwear that’s part of a uniform.) Let’s take the practical. No one needs to be told nowadays of the need for protection from UV radiation. So it makes sense to wear a hat in summer to help keep the sun off your face. As we were taught at school, most of your body’s heat loss in winter is from the head. So it also makes sense to keep your head warm in winter by wearing a hat. Then there’s the theatrical. You can signal lots of different messages with your headwear. We feel quite different depending on the hats we’re wearing and that gives us the chance to have fun and to enjoy playing different roles in our everyday lives. We can literally and figuratively “wear many hats”. We also like hiding under our hats sometimes, such as at those awkward moments in crowds when it’s more comfortable to avoid eye contact. And let’s not forget bad hair days (or months or years): you can get rid of concerns about your hair by covering up your head.

We live in an era of mass produced cheap disposable fashion and expensive so-called luxury products that are nevertheless identically available in every major city. For this reason we cherish our millinery because it is so different and a true luxury product. Since the decline of large scale hat making in the mid 20th century, the art and craft of millinery has survived in the hands of individuals who design and make their works themselves (often as well as dealing with every other aspect of their business). Although we sometimes refer to them as “designers”, almost every milliner whom we stock does more than just design: they make their pieces themselves, with occasional helpers. To us, this gives their work an authenticity and special quality, not to mention rarity, that is usually missing in other areas of fashion, where design and making are divorced from each other.

It’s no accident that although we stock milliners and hatters from all around the world, the majority are based in London. Of all the countries in the world, Britain is probably the one where there are enough hat-wearing events such as royal garden parties, important horse races and a continuing tradition for wearing hats to weddings, as well as a tolerance for individualistic dress, to sustain more than a handful of hat makers.

Practically everyone we have dealt with in the world of hats is highly creative, delightful, fun, and a bit eccentric. We think that this might have something to do with the fact that in the world of handmade millinery you can hardly be in it for the money, so you must really love it. Confronted with the choice of ramping up production and potentially becoming a household name or remaining bespoke and exclusive to serve a small, appreciative clientele, our milliners tend to choose the latter. On the other hand, this also means that while many milliners aim to produce at least two collections a year, as the majority are one (wo)man bands, they can easily be sidetracked by other projects and events in their working or personal lives.

We have to admit though, we don’t love all hats without qualification. In fact, a lot of headwear out there causes our eyes to glaze over (too pedestrian) or to roll (too ridiculous – even we have limits). We just happen to love the work of certain milliners and hatters, so much so that we have not only bought their work for ourselves, but for you too! Each one occupies their own distinctive niche in our unparalleled offering of headwear.

善用你的頭!

我們為何喜歡帽子?從何說起呢?!就從純虛榮的角度開始吧:頭飾可以大大改善你的外觀!戴帽的人都知道這個好處。如果你没有戴帽的習慣,試想一下,有什麼其他配飾會像帽子一樣影響你的容貌?它在你的頭上,一定會吸引目光。形狀、顏色和款式都發揮作用。一頂適合你的帽子可以突顯你的臉龐特徵和面形,適當的顏色令你容光煥發,讓你看起來更完美漂亮。此外,不論你的衣著是輕便或莊重,整體都會更協調和諧。就算是同一套衣服,戴上不同的頭飾也會產生不同的效果。

戴帽有很多好處(我們先不談傳統、民族服裝、宗教或制服的帽子)。從實用的角度看,所有人都知道現今避免紫外光有多重要,尤其是在夏天,用帽子保護臉龐,阻擋陽光直照面上是明智之舉。老師也告訴過我們,在冬天,頭部是體溫流失最多的地方,戴帽保暖也是很明智的做法。再來就是戲劇效果。頭飾可以為你傳遞不同的訊息。戴不同的帽子,感覺也不同,讓我們從中作樂,在日常生活中扮演不同角色。我們可以實在地、同時象徵性地「戴很多帽子」。在人群中那些困窘、不想有眼神接觸的時刻,又可以躲在帽子下面。還有頭髮令人煩惱的日子(甚至數月或數年),把頭遮蓋起來,問題自然迎刃而解。

現今的市場,一方面充斥著大量生產、廉價即棄的時裝,另一方面是一些高價、但在主要城市都買得到、一式一樣的所謂奢侈品。因此我們特別珍惜我們的帽飾,因為這是真正的珍品,非一般貨色所能比擬。自上世紀中葉之後,大規模的帽子製作已經沒落,造帽的藝術與工藝由是落在個別的人手中。他們不單設計,還親自動手製作(很多時還要兼顧一盤生意牽涉的一切)。雖然我們稱他們為「設計師」,差不多每一位都是親力親為,間中有助手幫忙。我們認為這樣的帽子更具真確性,品質更特別,不用說更稀有,因為在其他時裝範疇,設計與製作往往是分開的。

雖然我們從世界各地搜購帽飾,但大部份都來自倫敦,這並非偶然。世上所有國家當中,英國可能是有最多戴帽場合的國家,例如皇室花園茶會、賽馬盛事、婚禮等等,個人主義的裝扮也普遍被接受,都是支持一眾造帽師生存下去的原因。

在帽子世界中,我們接觸過的人幾乎每一位都是創意非凡、性格開朗活潑,甚至有點怪誕。我們猜想從事手造帽這個行業,你很難賺大錢,因此必然是為了心頭好。要他們在大量生產、做到家傳戶曉,與堅持為小撮知音人造別出心裁的帽子之間作抉擇,大都選擇後者。另一方面,這也意味雖然帽師們都希望每年出產兩個系列的帽飾,但由於大部份是孤軍作戰,他們往往被工作上或個人生活的其他事項分心。

我們必需承認,我們不是來者不拒的。很多帽飾叫我們視若無睹(太街坊)或反眼(太荒謬 –我們也有底綫的)。我們只是愛煞了某些帽藝家的作品,為自己買回來,也為了你!在我們出類拔萃的各款頭飾之中,他們每一位都有自己的風格和特殊地位。